Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
    1. Kit: , by (VIP/Sponsor) chassisdude is offline
      Builder Last Online: Apr 2016 Show Printable Version Email this Page
      Model Scale: 1/8 Rating:  Thanks: 0
      Started: 08-09-13 Build Revisions: Never  
      Not Supported

      My buddy just recently got a complete Sherline CNC mill and lathe..He is up to his eyeballs in doing some medical tool prototyping (I get use after that for my stuff) he is having trouble going from CAD to CAM and then to G code... anyone have any tips....He is a Cad guy but a "no experience machinist" (has to start some where). He says the forum for sherline hasn't been much help so he asked I could see if you guys might have some recommendations..
      Thanks in advance...
      Show Complete First Post

      Show Your Support

      • This build may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
        Please note: The first post will be displayed at the top of every page.
    JOIN THE SMC ALLIANCE NOW

  1. spinellid82's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    David
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,715
    Boy oh boy Mike, that's a tough one! I'd say you have me by the short hairs but due to the chemo I don't have any.
    USMC, Retired

    Evil prevails when good men stand idle.
    QUOTE QUOTE #2

  2. strevo's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    Steve
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    463
    Mike,
    I'm a CAD guy myself, but haven't ever converted for a CNC. From what I hear it can be pretty finnicky, and depends a lot on what software you're using. A guy at my work used to use MasterCAM software to program the CNC, but I'm not sure if it can output g-code or not. Wish I could be more help. Good luck.
    "Success and failure are the same choice; only attitude determines the difference." Ross A. Halliday
    QUOTE QUOTE #3

  3. chassisdude's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,389
    Quote Originally Posted by strevo View Post
    Mike,
    I'm a CAD guy myself, but haven't ever converted for a CNC. From what I hear it can be pretty finnicky, and depends a lot on what software you're using. A guy at my work used to use MasterCAM software to program the CNC, but I'm not sure if it can output g-code or not. Wish I could be more help. Good luck.
    Thanks for the reply ...Im sure he will get if figured out eventually ..Probably just a minor software issue or something simple...We will keep plugging at it


    Cad to Cam issues
    I have done so much, With so little, for so long, I can do anything with nothing...
    QUOTE QUOTE #4

  4. BrassBuilder's Avatar Yearly Subscriber
    Name
    Mike
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    365
    Try www.cnczone.com instead. Everything you ever wanted to know about cnc can be found there.
    My website:
    http://www.firesteelhobbies.com/index.html

    Feel free to look around. I have all of my projects on the website.
    QUOTE QUOTE #5

  5. chassisdude's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,389
    Thanks..ill pass that imformation on..He fessed up today by telling me he didnt "really" read "all" the instructions....and when he re read... he thinks he knows what he was doing wrong ..soooo...he says he going try to do a small run this weekend..fingers crossed


    Cad to Cam issues
    I have done so much, With so little, for so long, I can do anything with nothing...
    QUOTE QUOTE #6

  6. dpride's Avatar Active Member
    Name
    David
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mike, sorry I didn't see this thread sooner. This is a big part of what I do for a living.
    If you tell me what equipment you have and what software, I might be able to help.
    (I still do some medical prototypes)
    QUOTE QUOTE #7

  7. chassisdude's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,389
    Quote Originally Posted by dpride View Post
    Mike, sorry I didn't see this thread sooner. This is a big part of what I do for a living.
    If you tell me what equipment you have and what software, I might be able to help.
    (I still do some medical prototypes)
    Thats great....Ill get the info..Thanks


    Cad to Cam issues
    I have done so much, With so little, for so long, I can do anything with nothing...
    QUOTE QUOTE #8

  8. Bugatti Fan's Avatar Active Member
    Name
    Noel
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    15
    For those who are not familiar with CAD/CAM here is a bit of explanation. All CAD (Computer Aided Design) programs when producing CAM (Computer Aided Manufacturing) programs to run CNC (Computer Numerically Controlled) machines have to produce NC (Numerical Control) code (or G code as it often referred). Back in the old days of NC, machine programmers had write the code and had to do all the Trigonometry for the tool paths as well, then type in the code on a machine that produced punched tape for the machine to read by either optical or mechanical means. CAM programs alleviate the programmer of a lot of tedious repetitive error prone work as the program generates the machine code required after working out the tool path, and the programs are downloaded directly to the CNC machine, stored and used.
    However, CAD CAM still needs an experienced designer/machinist who fully understands machining limitations such as where it would be impossible for a machine to do an undercut and be aware of this during the actual designing process.
    This is not the case though with the new 3D printers that are now available that build up a model in layers, so undercuts and complex reliefs are not a consideration on this type of machine.
    Last edited by Bugatti Fan; 05-16-17 at 11:05 AM.
    QUOTE QUOTE #9

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
     : 05-19-14, 01:56 AM
  2. gallery down load issues
    By chassisdude in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
     : 07-29-13, 11:42 AM
  3. Turbo Trans AM Monogram 1/8 with issues
    By SMC in forum For sale on eBay
    Replies: 0
     : 04-25-11, 08:24 PM
  4. Turbo Trans AM Monogram 1/8 with issues
    By SMC in forum For sale on eBay
    Replies: 0
     : 04-22-11, 09:10 AM
  5. Replies: 0
     : 04-18-11, 11:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Top