Close

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
  1. spinellid82's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    David
    The more I work with it the more I like it. The more I like it the less any other material matters. I am still not good enough to try a lot of things in brass, not to mention that I don't have the proper tools (yet). For many years I have wanted to build something totally from scratch and then I started playing with brass and started losing sleep over the idea. Ken Foran I am not, but I do own his book...go get a copy it is awesome!

A while back I stumbled across a set of blueprints for one of my favorite cars, the Super 7. I downloaded the blueprints and started collecting reference photos. I decided to start building an engine block for lack of anything better to do and then went and bought a bunch of .25 square brass tube. Next thing I know, there is almost a complete chassis in 1:4 scale on my bench. I must have been in a brass-out because I don't remember a thing...that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

This will not be a completely brass build, perhaps someday but not today.

Hello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-1-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-2-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-3-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-4-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-5-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-6-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-7-jpgHello, my name is David and I am a brassaholic.-chassis-8-jpg

I should have put something in for scale but that thought didn't cross my mind in time. The chassis alone is 10.5 inches wide and 29.625 inches long. I still have to finish the rear portion but I have to do that life thing for a bit so it will have to wait a while.

The proposed drivetrain will be comprised of a few top notch items...if all goes well.