Close

1. JMinn's Avatar Member
    Name
    Josh
    Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on a forum like this because I haven't built a model in years. I'm painting a 70 mustang in duplicolor because I want it to look just like his. I bought the perfect match primer Dupli Color Paint Issue , color and clear so I wouldn't have any problems but the color coat looks horrible. The primer Dupli Color Paint Issue coat went on perfect, I didn't even sand Dupli Color Paint Issue it because it was so smooth so the next day I went to the color coat. I've put about 5 coats on and they all went on smooth but the paint looks so dried out. Now I do live in Illinois where the highest it'll get temperature wise is about 40 so I made sure to keep the car inside at all times unless I went in the garage to paint it. What I can't understand is that the hood and tail end came out perfect but the body looks terrible. The only thing I can think of is that I painted the little parts first, put those aside and then painted the body so I could drag it back inside right away. Could the little parts being in the cold for a few minutes could have caused it to dry better? Thoughts?
    Dupli Color Paint Issue-20181230_104638-jpgDupli Color Paint Issue-20181230_104651-jpgDupli Color Paint Issue-20181230_104647-jpg
    QUOTE QUOTE #1

2. Egon's Avatar Moderator
    Name
    egon
    Hi Josh I think it's the cold weather or humidity, but can't say.
    QUOTE QUOTE #2

3. JunkGTZ's Avatar VIP/Sponsor
    Name
    Larry