PDA

View Full Version : Civil War Rucker Ambulance

RickyGene
11-13-12, 08:31 PM
I am new to building scale wagons and will build this as my 1st.
I am in the middle of completing another model.........but as soon as I can, I will post the build of this fascinating wagon developed to remove casualities from the battle fields of the Union Army.http://www.scalemotorcars.com/gallery/data/500/Rucker_Ambulance.jpg

xken
11-13-12, 08:53 PM
Rick, that looks like a fun project and I will look forward to seeing this build. This is one of ME's new offerings.

Ken 1gramps1

RickyGene
11-13-12, 08:54 PM
This is a Model Expo kit.......gasp.....kit!1what1 Anyhoo, was on special and I could not pass it up.
This is apart of Model Expo "Guns of History Collection"........1/16th scale.
8 1/2" length
4" wideth
6" height

To Quote ME: The carnage of the Civil War made transporting the wounded from the battlefields a matter of life and death. The ambulance wagon designed by Brigadier Generial D.H. Rucker proved to be the most valuable innovation. Used during the later half of the war, it was able to carry patients in seated or prone positions.
General Ulysses Grant used a Rucker to transport his personal effects during his campaigns.
Rickgringrin

RickyGene
11-13-12, 08:57 PM
Rick, that looks like a fun project and I will look forward to seeing this build. This is one of ME's new offerings.

Ken 1gramps1 I am honored that you will watch me, I pretty much follow your lead. I looked @ this for a couple of days and decided it would make a good 1st go @ HDVs.
Rick1thumbup1

GusSMHDV
11-13-12, 09:01 PM
Rick - this will be fun to watch...I'm looking forward to itgringrin

Cheers - Gus

RickyGene
11-13-12, 09:08 PM
Thanks Gus, again I am honored by those who design, and build proto-typical........of which I make no claim to be able to do.